Mayor Harry Baughn 2.jpg


Mayor Harry Baughn


Harry Baughn- retired after 30 years as VP of Marketing/Manufacturing for Industrial Opportunities Inc. Currently in his second term. Married with one daughter in PA.

councilman joe slaton.JPG


Joe Slaton

Town Council

Joe Slaton is a retired architect who has volunteered on local projects such as the Town’s public restrooms and the restoration of the 1888 Courthouse into an event center.

Susan Morgan


Susan P. Morgan

Town Clerk and Finance Officer

Susan Morgan moved to Hayesville in 2013 and began working as Town Clerk and Finance Officer in 2015.

councilman austin hedden.JPG


Austin Hedden

Town Council

Council member, Austin Hedden, has roots in Clay County which extend back several generations. He teaches science and math and is a soccer coach with Clay County Schools.

councilwoman Lauren Tiger.jpg


Lauren Tiger

Town Council

Lauren Tiger is a Physical Therapist at Chatuge Regional Hospital. She also represents the 5th generation of Tigers working in Tiger’s Store and Chinquapins.

Sandy Benson.JPG


Sandy Benson

Zoning Admin

Sandy Benson has served as Zoning Administrator since September 2021.